• Increase
  • Normal


Student Innovation Contest:

Ideas are like legs; what good are they if you can't run with them.

- Jarod Kintz 


                                                                                         View all



Every Year SRF has planned a Student innovation Contest which gives a platform for students to prove their technical and research talents 

While all agree that an idea can change one’s life, it is time we realize that any idea that can't be implemented isn’t worth a penny. Long has been the  gap after the idea to lighten the world led to invention of a bulb by Edison.

With this vision GCT-SRF organized a Student Innovation Contest 2013 -to collect  best innovations and ideas from budding engineers!!

Around 100 Project Proposals have been received.

Round 1: Submitted Abstracts reviewed by the Selection Committee ( Faculties)

Round 2: Personal Interview by Dr.R.Krishan


The 'Student Research Foundation' was inaugurated by Dr. Mylswamy Annadurai, our alumnus and renowned scientist at Indian Space Research Organization ISRO on October 5, 2013 in the GCT Auditorium. He awarded the top three project proposals of the 'Students' Innovation contest' with cash prizes of 5000 INR, 3000 INR and 2000 INR respectively. Apart from the cash prize, the winners are funded by the TEQIP, to transform their ideas into commercial products for the society. Dr. M. Annadurai gave an inspiring talk on 'how to innovate' for the students of GCT.

The occasion was embellished by two other Alumni- The Principal Dr. V. Lakshmi Prabha, who presided the function and Dr. R.Krishnan, former Director ADRIN, Hyderabad, who is now the Senior research officer of GCT. The SRF coordinator Dr. T.Purusothaman, Associate Professor department of CSE & IT and other faculties of various departments were also present during the inauguration.


                                                                 Selection Committee 


Dr. V.Lakshmi Prabha, Principal

SRF- Coordinator 

Dr. S.Gopi

Senior Research Officer 

Dr. R.Krishnan

Civil & Environmental 

Dr. S.Jayanthi

Mechanical & Production

Dr. P.K.Palani


Dr. C.Vasanthanayaki


Dr. R.Rajeswari


Dr. S.Rathi


Prof. J.Kiruthika